Western Sahara

19 images Created 12 Dec 2011

Please note: Photography by UN/Martine Perret. Do not use, sell or reproduce without contacting the UN for authorization. Please visit UN website: http://www.unmultimedia.org/photo/

Western Sahara, a Territory on the north-west coast of Africa bordered by Morocco, Mauritania and Algeria, was administered by Spain until 1976. Both Morocco and Mauritania affirmed their claim to the territory, a claim opposed by the Frente Popular para la Liberación de Saguia el-Hamra y de Río de Oro (Frente POLISARIO). The Sahrawi refugee camps in Tindouf, Algeria, are a collection of refugee camps, set up in the Tindouf Province, Algeria in 1975-76 for Sahrawi refugees. The camps are divided into four wilayas (districts) named after towns in Western Sahara; Laayoune, Awserd, Smara and Dakhla. In addition comes the smaller satellite camp "February 27", surrounding the boarding school for women, and the administrative camp Rabouni. These images show refugees in their daily lives in June 2010.
View: 25 | All